Tags

, , , , , ,

Humility-leadership-kate-nassar

Just a quick thought experiment:

Think about your greatest achievement so far. Now, think back, in steps, trying to contemplate how you got to make that achievement.

If you understood the steps correctly and if you’re honest enough, you eventually bumped into some sort of bedrock. This is something that’s independent of your effort: something that just happened to find its way into your life, yet it predates everything else.

For example, I’m doing my university education partly because I passed the previous academic levels, but there is no logical reason for my comparative excellence in Primary School. There is no algorithm to explain what made me different from the next person. In hindsight, I have become persuaded that there are so many factors outside of myself that if there had been a slight change in them, I would have been remarkably different from how I am now.

It’s as if we are all artists in a gallery and we start with a partly painted canvas. This illustration would make sense if we add that one painter’s activity may reflect on another’s painting. Three aspects then; one that is independent of any other painter(the painting you start with at birth); one that is dependent on the way those around you(friends, family etc) chose to paint their own canvases and your own painting experience. In the light of the first two aspects, you are given something on the same plane on which it is denied another. Recognizing this not only makes you see the possibility of your life having been that of another but it inspires compassion within you when you see others in deficit.

Is it then fair to say that every of one’s achievements is made based on an arbitrary constant? How are we different from the next person then? This question humbles me much! Whenever I’m tempted to think of another person as inferior, I always remind myself the logical truth that I could have been him.

random-act-of-kindness

Challenge

I challenge you to strive to give the best for those around you, and to make allowances for their shortcomings.

Tangent Thought

humble-leader

One of the truths I have learned is that each one of us was just one happy childbirth away from say being Adolf Hitler. Realizing this, a perfect world is not only one where everyone tries by any means not to become an Adolf, but also a world where when one person does become that, everyone understands that it’s a ubiquitous crisis and weeps in sympathy.

References

Bible: humility

follow me on facebook; click here!

