Tags

,

It has been a couple of months since my last depressive episode and this has been the longest break I have had since my early teenage. Yay!

As you may already know from my previous posts, I read around a lot about the Emotional Mind, Psychology etc. This has given me some clear-cut help and also set me up with some epiphanies of my own that have helped me fight my depression. I want to share some of these secrets with you. Hopefully, you will find this article helpful.

Depression Is A State Of Mind.
This is just a light point to form the basis on which most of what I will share will be based.

Depression is a state of mind associated with the Emotional Mind. As such, the depressed gets swallowed up in a vortex of emotions and the part of him that thinks straight will be somewhat sedated. It is this one mode to which your mind slips into to provide some relief to your Intellectual Mind.

           The relief is warranted because sometimes it is hard for one to process a change from normality, be it a break up, getting fired from a job or simply having a cascade of troubles going on in life.

Thinking about changing a situation is somewhat a challenge to a depressed person. This is because in that episode the depressed wants to do anything but think.

              Actually, what we call depression is just the equivalent of sadness or hopelessness that may be experienced by even the best of us except depressive episodes are usually longer and more frequent.

Consider this, people who don’t experience depressive episodes may experience the symptom of depression but then after a short while they re-engage their intellectual mind, that part of the brain that thinks straight, and it helps them evaluate perspetives that would latch them out of the trajectory towards depression. 

        They re-engage easily because they have an inclination for change. Eventually, their intellectual mind grapples onto some counter thought which would latch them off the depression trajectory. Thinking straight or trying to thereof, however daunting, is the best way to fight against depression.

Here is my story: Whenever I have a premonition about a depressive episode, I have learnt to activate my mind, belittle any stressers, manage my music playlist, stay away from my diary, refrain from writing songs etc. I then think about things that make me strong: my zeal for the future, the start-up I’m planning on, my sister’s beatific smile, how my mother thinks I am the most intelligent person in the world, how far I have come in life, the possibilities about the future etc. In essence I starve my emotional mind and feed that part of me that I can trust.

Thinking straight or trying to thereof, however daunting, is the best way to fight against depression.

I have long since learned to think of my emotional mind as a child my intellectual mind has to babysit. This is a big point and it will be a topic for another day, I promise.

Anyway, if you struggle with depression, your depressive episodes become long partly because your emotional mind will have grown powerful. In your depressive episode you just feel like listening to slow music, write a sad poem, cry, rant about your problems etc. All these feed your Emotional Mind and sedate the part of your mind that is capable of taking you out of the depression trajectory.

After some time, getting depressed may even appeal to you as somewhat a new normal, you personalise it, sometimes with an implicit pride.

In your depressive episode you just feel like listening to slow music, write a sad poem, cry, rant about your problems etc. All these feed your Emotional Mind and sedate the part of your mind that is capable of taking you out of the depression trajectory

By the way, if you are a blogger and you struggle with depression and you think this last point was a clutch for you then you should check out this post: How WordPress Grooms A Depressed Blogger For Suicide

Anyway, most people do not realise that the Emotional mind is a part of the mind that one should not trust. It is, in my opinion, the zone in which you are really the least you and the state of mind in which most people commit suicide. I will try to sustain this in a my next post.

For now, don’t stop thinking! Think about beautiful colours. Laugh away everything that is a threat to your mental health. Don’t sweat small stuff! And hands off that Dolly Parton album! Psych, on the last one!

Keep fighting!

