My Love and Hate For Jordan B. Peterson

It’s around midnight now and I feel inspired to share some spidery thoughts. I have been researching on Race and IQ for some time now. I have listened to Jordan Peterson emphatically defend how essential intelligence test scores are in telling a person’s capabilities in terms of future success; I have listened to Sam Harris agree with Charles Murray on the Making Sense Podcast. (I’m still to read The Bell Curve, by the way.)

In case you didn’t know, there is a popular discussion in the ”intellectual dark web” that the average intelligence is different for different races and that the differences in the socio-economic development of the regions across the world could be an effect of the differences in average intelligence.

Now, in one of the videos I watched, Jordan Peterson agonized about 10 % of people in the West who are below the minimum healthy intelligence level of 83. He expressed deep concern and here is what worried me: ”his” 10 % is actually ”my” 50 %. See, I am from Sub-Sahara Africa and the average IQ in my region is below 83, depending on whom you ask. More’s the pity, the dialogue challenges my understanding of differences and of my immediate environment. (More on this tomorrow.)

I’m still in my Danning Krugger phase with this but I’d happy to know what you think about it. I’m planning on making a reaction video to one of Peterson’s videos and I could really use any perspectives you may have.

Anyway, I’m happy today, I reached my daily goals.

I appreciate the read. Leave your best post in the comments and I will check it out.

Cheers!

Leave a comment